Florida DUI | The bank rate
Nearly 8,500 Floridians were killed in car crashes involving a drunk driver between 2003 and 2012, and 2.1% of Florida drivers reported driving after drinking too much. Like other states, Florida takes drunk driving seriously. Having a DUI conviction on your record is a major risk factor in the eyes of insurance companies.
DUIs come with a number of penalties that drivers should be prepared for, including rising insurance costs. Although the penalties for a DUI vary in Florida depending on the severity of the situation, it may be wise to have a general idea of what to expect after being convicted.
How Does a DUI Affect Your Insurance Rate?
Drivers convicted of a DUI are considered riskier drivers than those without a DUI conviction, which is why their insurance rates increase after their convictions. Although a driver can change their behavior, this insurance surcharge will usually stay on your policy for several years.
DUIs are serious offenses. It is estimated that more than 10,000 people die each year from alcohol-related traffic accidents. And, according to Mothers Against Drunk Driving, two in three people will be affected by a drinking and driving accident in their lifetime.
Due to the serious consequences associated with DUIs, insurance companies typically increase car insurance premiums after DUI convictions. Below is a table showing the national average annual full coverage premium before and after DUI compared to Florida average annual full coverage premium before and after DUI.
|national||$ 1,674||$ 3,336||99%|
|Florida||$ 2,364||$ 3,503||48%|
Nationally, auto insurance premiums have nearly doubled after a DUI. In Florida, the average annual increase in premiums is approximately 48%. However, since Florida’s average annual premium before DUI tends to be higher than the national average annual premium, Floridians can still expect to pay relatively high premiums after a DUI.
How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost After a DUI in Florida?
The cost of insurance varies with each auto insurance company, and the same goes for insurance premiums after DUI. The following table shows what drivers typically pay with several insurance providers in Florida before and after a DUI conviction. You can pay more or less depending on the severity of your DUI and your past driving offenses. In addition, an insurance company may choose not to renew your policy after a conviction for impaired driving.
If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida, you will need to show proof of insurance called FR-44 to reinstate your license. If you carry state minimum liability limits, you will need to increase your liability limits to comply with FR-44 requirements.
Florida Provider Full Coverage Rates with DUI
The rates below may not reflect the changes as some carriers will not renew if you have a DUI conviction.
|Provider||Average annual total coverage rate||Annual rate of full coverage with DUI|
|Allstate||$ 2,441||$ 3,177|
|General direct||$ 2,766||$ 3,074|
|Geico||$ 2,085||$ 2,985|
|MetLife||$ 2,830||$ 4,952|
|Progressive||$ 2,573||$ 3,115|
|State farm||$ 1,739||$ 2,679|
Other consequences of DUI in Florida
In addition to an increase in insurance premiums, DUIs usually come with many other consequences. You may have fees to pay, face probation, or even be jailed. The severity of your DUI conviction will determine the severity of the consequences you face. In general, the more impaired driving convictions you have on your record, the more severe your penalty will be. In addition, drivers whose actions have injured or killed someone as a result of a conviction for impaired driving will generally face severe penalties.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does BAC mean and how is it measured?
BAC stands for alcohol content in the blood, or the level of alcohol detected in your blood. If you are arrested because you are suspected of drinking and driving, a police officer will likely perform field tests to determine your sobriety and may have you breathe into a device called a breathalyzer, which determines your blood alcohol level. .
What BAC is required for a DUI conviction in Florida?
A blood alcohol level of 0.08 constitutes a DUI in Florida. If you drive a commercial vehicle, however, a level of 0.04 is considered illegal, and if you are under 21, the level drops to 0.02. However, even lower blood alcohol levels can impact your ability to drive and pose a danger to yourself and others on the road.
What is an FR-44?
An FR-44 is a form filed by your insurer. The form is forwarded to the Florida DMV as proof that a driver is meeting their insurance obligations. An FR-44 is usually required after a driver has been found guilty of a DUI. Drivers will be asked to maintain their auto insurance coverage (or purchase coverage, if they were uninsured) and have their insurance company send the appropriate document to the Florida DMV. In order to meet FR-44 requirements, drivers convicted of a DUI must carry liability limits of $ 100,000 for bodily injuries per person, $ 300,000 for accidental bodily injuries and $ 50,000 for casualties. materials.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze rates for all postal codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a DUI, good credit and the following full coverage limits:
- Liability for bodily injury of $ 100,000 per person
- $ 300,000 liability for bodily injury per accident
- Civil liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
- $ 100,000 in bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist per person
- $ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury per accident to a motorist
- $ 500 collision deductible
- Global deductible of $ 500
Our sample drivers own a 2018 Honda Accord, commute five days a week, and travel 12,000 miles a year.
* DUI qualifies as> .08 BAC
These are sample rates and should be used for comparison purposes only. Your quotes may be different.