17 Republican attorneys general sue EPA over California emissions waiver

Just months after California restored its ability to set its own rules on greenhouse gas emissions, 17 Republican attorneys general filed a lawsuit against the Environmental Protection Agency over the decision. .

The lawsuit claims that Michael Regan, the administrator of the EPA, violated a doctrine of the US Constitution that grants states equal sovereignty. Essentially, the attorneys general believe that all or none of the states should be allowed to set their own emissions regulations under the doctrine.

“The law simply leaves California with a portion of its sovereign authority that Congress takes away from all other states,” West Virginia attorney general Patrick Morrisey said in a statement, according to The Hill. “The EPA cannot selectively wave preemption of the law for California alone, because such patronage violates the state’s equal sovereignty.”

Also Read: EPA Restores California’s Ability to Set Its Own Vehicle Emissions Standards

When the EPA reinstated the waiver, it wrote that “California needs the ZEV sales mandate and GHG standards at issue to address the compelling and extraordinary air quality conditions in the state.” , according to Politico.

The specific waiver allowing California to set its own greenhouse gas emissions standards and zero-emission vehicle sales mandates was introduced in 2013 when the state aligned itself with the rest of the country on standards. However, under the previous Republican administration, the waiver was revoked after the government tried to roll back emissions rules for the country.

Under the current Democratic administration, however, the state and federal government have worked to bring back tougher emissions rules to combat the accelerating climate crisis that is being warned by top scientists, who have been called “radicals”. environmentalists” by U.S. Representative Cathy Morris Rodgers of Washington State, according to Automotive News.

The trial is being led by Ohio Attorney General Dave Yost, who is joined by his state counterparts from Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Oklahoma, South Carolina and Texas. , and Utah.

Comments are closed.